My first job: landscaping

My very first job where I earned an actual paycheck (not counting the occasional lawn mowing gig) was at a local golf course (Pine Hill in Carlton if you're wondering). It all really happened by accident.

I was a junior in high school and I liked to hang out in the art department. My art teacher was not only awesome, but was a friend of my Dad's so I felt like I had a kind-of 'in' with him. I'm not the drawing or painting type, I like me some good old clay sculpting and pottery!

So one day my art teacher asks me if I'm interested in a summer job. I of course tell him 'sure'! He then explains to me that he 'accidentally' purchased a golf course and wanted to know if I wanted to be on the grounds crew.

What I didn't realize at that time was Pine Hill is next to the freeway. Well, my art teacher and an English teacher had a sign business together, and they bought this land without checking it out. Once the bought it – holy crap! We just bought a golf course!

So, I actually spent two summers in Carlton, Minnesota fixing up a very run down golf course. I think they owned it a few more years, and then sold the place off to people who actually wanted to own a golf course. Good times, good tan, and decent money for a summer job.

Powered by Plinky

One Response to “My first job: landscaping”

  1. Lacresha Bronder Says:

    Landscaping is always necessary to have a very beautiful lawn. `

    My own, personal blog
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

